How To: Meditative Sky-Gazing

Nat N. Ph.D.
4 min readSep 30, 2019

At first traditional meditation was very difficult for me. Sitting? Crossing my legs? Straightening my back? Easing into it? All of these things felt like an imaginary checklist I was attempting to tick off each time I tried meditation. I was focusing more on what I thought I needed to be doing to relax all the while, fully not relaxing. I eventually found my own favorite way to help me ‘zen out’.

Image courtesy of Clyde RS

Within Tibetan Buddhism there is a meditation practice called Sky Gazing. This tradition comes from an emphasizes resting in a natural state, free from conceptual elaborations. When in this natural state, it can feel entirely open and clear in your mind — very freeing. Many of us have experienced this state of ‘spontaneous awareness’ while staring at the sun without realizing it.

I can’t stop gazing…

Sky Gazing cuts through many of the challenges people have when they learn to meditate. You can’t help but relax, gaze at the sky, and explore what’s happening at that moment. This can be at day or night thankfully for us ‘gazers’. You can do this practice with the clear blue…

--

--

Nat N. Ph.D.

Founder of MySoulrenity.com, Human Behavior Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Conscious Coach, + intuition fiend. Nerdy, ever- curious cosmic woman.